a post about not making pumpkin muffins

Today I was planning a leisurely post about pumpkin muffins (my absolutely obsessive pregnancy craving of late) but Baby had other plans. Instead, I spent the greater part of yesterday and today with painful contractions (at 36 weeks!) and decided to call my doctor. Apparently this and a few other fun symptoms led her to believe that I was in early labour and she told me to head to the hospital for tests. If they came back positive, I would have to deliver within the next 2 days! This was not what I was hoping to hear, I quickly threw together some necessities in case we would need them later (toothbrush, car seat, change of clothes) and we were off! After a few tests and a couple of hours of monitoring, all was deemed well and it was clear that Baby had changed it’s mind about an early exit.

From here I could go on to explain the quirks of the medical system in France, especially as they pertain to birth, or the weird and wacky practices I have experienced this year managing prenatal care in four different countries, but I won’t. Because I already did that here.

But I will conclude with the pumpkin muffin recipe that I would have made (and devoured) if I had not been so rudely interrupted. (Braxton-Hicks, you are an SOB). Please let me know how it goes for you if you decide to make them.

Also, if you have any tips on staying pregnant (at least until 38 weeks), I would really appreciate them!

Ingredients

I cup of pumpkin puree (roast the pumpkin in the oven
for 1 hour, skin, and puree)

1 cup all-purpose flour

2/3 cups brown sugar

1 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoons ground cloves

1 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 12 muffin
cups or loaf pan.

To roast the pumpkin, remove seeds and strings. Place it on
baking sheet, cut side down. Cover with foil and bake in preheated oven until
tender, about 90 minutes. Remove pumpkin pulp and puree in blender. Measure out
1 cup pumpkin puree.

In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking
powder, all of the spices and salt. In a separate bowl, beat together pumpkin
puree, vegetable oil and eggs. Stir pumpkin mixture into flour mixture until
smooth. Scoop batter into muffin cups or loaf pan

Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until a toothpick
inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

One response

Leave a Reply

